What I love about being a developer ?

What I love about being a developer ?

Sharing my journey towards becoming a software developer and what I love about being a developer.

ยท

3 min read

Today's post will be quite different from the ones I have shared before and today I will be sharing what made me interested in software engineering and what I love about being in this field. I have divided the entire post into multiple sections starting with How I got started with programming?

How I got started with programming

  • I was always a curious person who enjoyed learning new things and solving problems and hence decided to pursue engineering after high school.

  • However, at that time I didn't have much knowledge about various engineering majors, and neither did I have a fixed interest in a particular engineering domain. So I ended up taking Mechanical Engineering as my major.

  • It was during the first year of my university that we had an introductory programming course it was because of this I started learning to code and got interested in it. Before this, I had no knowledge of coding.

  • Once I had gotten a basic understanding of coding fundamentals I got curious to know how apps and websites are built and how they work and that's how I started to learn web development through a Udemy course on my own outside of my university studies. This was the start of my journey as a developer.

How did I strengthen my skills and learn things as a developer?

  • Following that, I built a lot of personal projects. I personally feel that if we want to understand or learn a particular language or framework, the best way is to build a project around that and actually implement our skills. This has benefitted me a lot in learning new things and enhancing my skill set.

  • I also started participating in various coding competitions and hackathons, which helped me enhance my problem-solving skills, and also I could learn new things and implement them in a short span of time.

  • Internships also played a huge role in improving my skills. During my internships, I got a chance to work on a wide range of projects and problem statements which made me challenge myself to improve and learn. Also, the mentorships and feedback that I got during my internships helped me realize and improve upon my mistakes and I got to learn about efficient software practices and methods.

Ways to enhance coding skills.png

What do I enjoy about being a developer?

  • As a developer, the best part I feel is that I get a chance to work on various challenges and problem statements, brainstorm for solutions and build products.

  • I have always enjoyed exploring new things and with the tech world being so vast and continuously expanding there is always something new to learn and work upon every day.

  • Also, it is always fun while working in a team together and collaborating on a project, you get to learn so much as everyone has a different perspective on things and ways of solving problems so you end up getting so many new ideas and methods to solve one problem.

  • On top of all this, the best part is anyone with relevant skills, interests, and curiosity can become a developer or a software engineer in the tech industry as it is open to everyone irrespective of their major or profession.

Finally, Thank you so much for reading my post. I hope this could be helpful in some way as through this post, I wanted to give a glimpse of my journey and share my learnings as a developer.

ย